Winning

by Dani

I watched the Charlie Sheen comedy roast on cable the other night. I don’t usually watch these shows but since Charlie made such a spectacle of himself earlier in the year, I was curious. It was what I expected, some mockery and the usual banter about his love affair with drugs, hookers and the f-word. Then Charlie had his turn to speak. His response was articulate, well timed and so well crafted that it made me think that his “winning” debacle was simply a publicity stunt. His closing line was “I was the highest paid television star in the history of tv. Then I did something every person in America wants to do. I told my boss to F-off. And so he fired me. But I have a family that loves me and in the end you are all here celebrating me so I am no longer “Winning”.  I have won.”

He is clearly a talented individual.

I had “winning” on my mind last night when my husband I were heading out to play tennis after dinner. We put the kids to bed and Papa agreed to keep an eye on them while we were gone. On our way out the door I overheard him ask my husband to buy him a Powerball ticket. Papa buys two tickets twice a week and he was concerned about not being able to get to the store, since he was babysitting, to make his purchase.

It struck me at that very moment that Dad really believes he is going to win. He feels that if he doesn’t get this ticket, today, he will miss his turn. He doesn’t just think he can win. He truly believes he will. He just needs to be patient and his number will come up.

I have always used a number of words to describe my father but until that very moment, optimistic wasn’t one of them. Funny that at 38 years old I am still learning things about my parents. And about myself.  I am also genuinely disappointed when I don’t win the lottery. I never expect that I won’t win. Why wouldn’t I? I have as much opportunity and luck as anyone else. I just didn’t realize that he felt the same way.

